My First Sako - L579 Forester 308

Discussion in 'Show us your Sako' started by stephane Grenier, Apr 26, 2021.

1. stephane Grenier

stephane Grenier Member

Country Flag:
    Canada
    State/Region:
    CA Quebec
    Good morning all

So recently I had the opportunity to get myself a Sako L579 Forester in 308. The serial number indicates that it was manufactured in 1968.

The mechanics are in good condition but the stock is going to need some love. At the time of purchase, I knew the stock was damaged and that it had been repaired by the owner. I will try to have it repaired, but I am thinking of changing it .. try to find original stock if possible.

I know that one of the owners was Swedish because the sticker comes from the Swedish hunters association.

This Sako was imported to Canada by Trade Ex.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

deergoose likes this.

2. paulsonconstruction

paulsonconstruction Sako-addicted

Country Flag:
    USA
    State/Region:
    US Iowa
    Dating a Sako from the serial number alone is difficult as Sako didn't make rifles in sequential order with the serial numbers. We have a Factory Records Service you can request the data on your rifle from if it falls within the range we have serial numbers for. These records show rifles with consecutive numbers being made years apart & rifles with serial numbers thousand apart being made on the same day. How did you come to the 1968 birthday?

3. stephane Grenier

stephane Grenier Member

Country Flag:
    Canada
    State/Region:
    CA Quebec
    I found this the info at the waffenlager.net and my serial # who is 78332 fit for the year 1968.. so i assume it's from 1968

4. Bucktote

Bucktote Well-Known Member

Country Flag:
    USA
    State/Region:
    US Georgia
    Hello Stephane & Sako fans,
    There is a unfinished L579 stock for sale on e-bay look & see if it is what you want !!

5. stephane Grenier

stephane Grenier Member

Country Flag:
    Canada
    State/Region:
    CA Quebec