sako 18 1/2 inch barrel 300 weatherby

Discussion in 'Sako Mannlichers and Carbines' started by 300WIN1975, Jan 9, 2013.

1. 300WIN1975

300WIN1975 Member

Country Flag:
    USA
    Hi i am new to this so hopefully i am doing this right. So anyway here goes. I wanted to see if anyone could help me out with some info on a sako that i just purchased. During the past couple of years I started collecting some various sakos and 2 tikka over and under 12/222s. I bought a new finnlight 300 win mag and also got a finnwolf in 308 from my girlfriend for xmas( guess shes a keeper ) but anyway I purchased a sako 300 weatherby mag with an 18 1/2 inch barrel , it has what i would call a high gloss 3/4 stock and is probably 95 to 98 %. I cant seem to find any info on it. It appears to be a sako "Handy Rifle" from what the blue book says, but doesnt list the 300 weath as a caliber that was produced. Also all the writing on the barrel is in gold. Can anyone tell me any info about the gun....Thanks for your help

2. paulsonconstruction

paulsonconstruction Sako-addicted

Country Flag:
    USA
    State/Region:
    US Iowa
    Not familiar with the term 3/4 stock & not aware of any Sakos with gold lettering. Pictures would be most helpful in analyzing what you have. Hard to believe that a 300 Weatherby with an 18.5" barrel would have been a Sako factory offering. What is your action model? Post pics or describe the lettering on the barrel. Forget the Blue Book. Most of what they have about Sakos is incorrect or misleading.

3. 300WIN1975

300WIN1975 Member

Country Flag:
    USA
  4. 300WIN1975

300WIN1975 Member

Country Flag:
    USA